UC San Diego – Chen Lab for BioNanomaterials, Bioprinting & Tissue Engineering (chen168@eng.ucsd.edu)
3D printing, bioprinting, biomaterials (hydrogels), biofabrication, mechanical property measurements

UC Davis – Kent Leach (jkleach@ucdavis.edu)
Mineralized scaffolds, composite scaffolds, electrospun scaffolds, hydrogels derived from natural materials, mechanical testing, biocompatibility testing using mammalian cells

UC Berkeley Biomaterials & Tissue Engineering Laboratory – Kevin Healy (kehealy@berkeley.edu)

USC – Yong Chen (yongchen@usc.edu)
Scaffolds, 3D printing, bioprinting

Stanford Center for Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence – David M. Barnett (barnett@stanford.edu)
Pursues the use of in vitro protein nanosensors and in vivo nanoparticles for next generation molecular imaging.

Stanford Nanocharacterization Laboratory – Tom Carver (carver@stanford.edu)
Materials characterization – high-resolution microscopes, x-ray diffractometers, surface science analytical instruments

Stanford Nanofabrication Facility – Roger Howe (rthowe@stanford.edu)
Supports researchers in applications ranging from medicine and biology to fundamental physics and astronomy. It’s equipped with a full suite of tools supporting device fabrication.

Stanford NeuroMuscular Biomechanics Lab – Scott Delp (delp@stanford.edu)
Provides experimental and computational approaches to study movement.

Stanford Soft Tissue Biomechanics Lab – Marc E. Levenston (levenston@stanford.edu)
Focuses on the function, degeneration and regeneration of articular cartilage and fibrocartilage, with an emphasis on understanding the complex interactions between biophysical and biochemical cues in controlling cell behavior.

Stanford Microsystems Lab – Beth Pruitt (pruitt@stanford.edu)
Micromachined sensors for system monitoring and modeling, development of novel processes and devices for measuring nanoscale mechanical behavior, and the analysis, design and control of integrated electro-mechanical systems. In the group there is a large focus on biomedical applications of nanofabricated devices with the goal of developing diagnostic tools, measurement and analysis systems, and reliable manufacture methods.

Stanford Biomimetics & Dextrous Manipulation Lab – Mark Cutkosky (cutkosky@stanford.edu)

Stanford Micro Structures & Sensors Lab – Thomas Kenny (kenny@cdr.stanford.edu)

Stanford Computational Biomechanics/Living Matter Lab – Ellen Kuhl (ekuhl@stanford.edu)

Stanford Nanoscale Prototyping Lab – Fritz Prinz (prinz-nanolab@stanford.edu)

Stanford Otobiomechanics Lab – Sunil Puria (puria@stanford.edu)

Stanford Microfluidics Lab – Juan G. Santiago (juan.santiago@stanford.edu)

Stanford Dauskardt Group – Reinhold Dauskardt (dauskardt@stanford.edu)
Materials synthesis, testing & characterization, computational modeling

Stanford Chaudhuri Lab – Ovijit Chaudhuri (chaudhuri@stanford.edu)
Mechanical properties of cells and ECM

UCSF – Jeffrey Lotz (jeffrey.lotz@ucsf.edu)
Biomechanics of bone – compression, tension, 3-pt bending, and other custom testing – both small and large animal

UCLA – Song Li (songli@ucla.edu)
Biocompatibility testing

UCLA Dental Research Service Center – Chase Linsley (clinsle@ucla.edu)
Instron, Fatigue, DMA wet/dry, anti-microbial product testing, anti-sensitivity and remineralization product testing, toxicity and safety testing, clinical validation of product efficacy

UCLA Biopolymer Laboratory – David Teplow (dteplow@mednet.ucla.edu)
Peptide and protein chemistry services

UCLA Materials Characterization Laboratory – Ignacio Martini (martini@chem.ucla.edu)
Thermal, optical, microscopic, electrical and magnetic characterization of materials and elemental analysis of surfaces via a wide range of instruments including light scattering spectrometers, several spectrophotometers; scanning probe microscopes, a SQUID magnetometer, a Scanning Electron Microscope, and an X-Ray Photoelectron Spectrometer

UCLA Inductive Coupled Plasma-Mass Spectometry – Shane Que Hee (squehee@ucla.edu)

UCLA Integrated NanoMaterial Laboratory – Baolai Liang (bliang@cnsi.ucla.edu)
Molecular Beam Epitaxy (MBE) reactors to provide semiconductor wafer growth foundry services. MBE-I is designed for providing (In, Ga, Al – As, Sb) epitaxial wafers, while MBE-II is designed to provide (In, Ga, Al – N) epitaxial wafers. Our strengths in nanomaterial synthesis include growth of nanowires, quantum dots, and semiconductor films in the thickness of a single atom level.

UCLA Integrated Systems Nanofabrication Cleanroom – isnc-info@cnsi.ucla.edu
Integrates classic semiconductor tools and processes with biological, chemical, and medical substrates to extend beyond more traditional nano-device fabrication such as integrated circuits, quantum dots, single electron transistors, nanotips etc. toward DNA, single molecules, proteins and a host of other biologically relevant nanosystems.

UCLA Nanoelectronics Research Facility – Tom Lee (leet@seas.ucla.edu)
Micro and nano-technology fabrication equipment, as well as professionally managed use of cleanroom facilities

UCLA Magnetic Resonance Facility – Robert Taylor (taylor@chem.ucla.edu)
Six NMR spectrometers and one EPR spectrometer

 

Biomaterials & biomechanics